I Hate Groundhogs… 

…and bats, squirrels, bears and bees. Infact I am down on anything that hibernates. It’s pure jealously of course, I would love to be able to just turn out the lights and curl up in a cave till winter was over. There is an element of thinly veiled resentment for my children at the moment, as they seem to have developed some kind of human equivalent of hibernation that is not an option for the ‘grown up’. The little feckers emerge from bed just long enough to fill their horrid little chipmunk cheeks with food, choose a new book from the shelf (without returning the last one) and then they return to their electric blanketed, Netflix enabled cocoons. One of the little monsters texted me to request a “hot chocolate and a snack” the other day. The phrase “I’m at war with a tiny army, that I have created” comes to mind.

Where is my cave? Where is my campfire and pile of animal skins? It’s a three dog night and I don’t even have cat…. 

Leave a Reply

