Day 32 – Role Models…

As someone who could be called “a wee bit skeptical”, it is difficult for me to take advice or follow the doctrines of either religion or self-help gurus… I am very much of the you must have walked a mile in my big black boots (or brightly colored converse, as the footwear was for today’s miles)… It makes it quite hard to take advice, when you are pretty sure you are smarter than the person giving it… I was going to say that is not an arrogant statement, but just because something is true and meant to explain my thoughts, doesn’t mean it lacks modesty… I respect intelligence, and that’s intelligence in all it’s forms, not just the memorize a book form… So when the person offering advice demonstrates a lack of intelligence in one area, I find it hard to respect their advice… I know, very judgey of me…

So when searching out pearls of wisdom and personal gurus, I tend to treat them the same way as I do the breakfast buffet at a five star restaurant…. A bit of crispy bacon, a duck egg, a slice of some weird melon, three types of cheese, a little muffin… Well you get the idea, a taste of everything their is to offer, and on the second trip to the buffet (eating hobbit style) I just stock up on the bits I like…

At the moment my role models are not from the self-help or soul saving industry… My first role model/man crush is Robert Downy Jr…. Not in a fanboy actor way, but in a, this person has walked a mile in many shoes way.. From alcoholism and drug abuse to depression and self destruction, this is a man who knows of what he speaks…

photo-195

While it is easy to dismiss his public persona as a crafted image, my skepticism does not extend to that level of cynicism in this case… To think he, or his minders could manage that is to believe the USA could fake a moon landing… People are not that clever…  So I read his autobiography, and follow him on the twitter… All gurus should be on the twitter… It stops them banging on for a chapter to get across a point that can be made in 140 characters (and yes I know that is a pot calling the kettle black)…

My other wonder wall occupant is more of a style icon… As I attempt to age gracefully, my fashion guidance can not be taken from chain stores or those around me… I  am never going to be tidy polo shirt, or business suit 9-5 guy… I guess I tend to gravitate towards rock n roll ish… Or at least I do when I am at my cocky fighting weight… But I can’t get away with that these days, and I can’t do
Hipster because it makes me look like a hobo…. This is where actor/antique dealer Billy Leroy comes in….

photo-196

I like Billy, he dresses well, and he is as mad as a bag of cats, during the US economic downtown he only accepted payments in Euros and he occasionally is seen wearing an eyepatch… So with that in mind I am editing my closets, which isn’t actually that hard… Most of my clothes fit with the style
I am aiming for, they just don’t fit me at the moment… But that is a topic for another day…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

