Man of Letters….

I kept track today…..5 hours spent filling in forms, writing letters and general box ticking…. I am not fond of petty bureaucracy and the paper prison it creates, but it is a necessary evil…. Much of the day was spent either having a hand out to one group, or a finger up to another… Forms for faceless government departments, to make sure I can afford to feed the kids… Forms for university departments to transfer subjects from my psychology degree to my bachelor of arts degree… Forms asking for scholarships for myself and draft letters to bursars asking for special consideration for children and their schooling… I even started filling out an arts grant or three…. and after all that, I started getting a few chapters of “my book” in order…. It may be time to try finding that agent, as I have been told it is better to find an agent than try to find a publisher…

Photo2-68

There is of course a digital copy, and I do write on a laptop most of the time…. but there is also something in my wiring that means I need to scrawl things on bits of paper and sketch the thumbnail illustrations on napkins….

Photo5-11

The ideas seem to flow a bit better, with coffee and pens and time to think away from a keyboard…. Annoulge is better for creativity… digital is better for all the pesky work bit…

Photo1-194

I think I need a nice big board to pin it all too… and maybe run red string between pins… Possibly a little bit serial killer or gentleman sleuth?

Photo4-29

 

Work on the book, or should I say 5 books has been a bit sporadic over the past few years, with all the life drama, fiction seemed a bit difficult…. So as I assess the situation it looks like this Book One – First draft complete (7 Chapters)… Book Two first 4 Chapters complete…. Book Three – First chapter complete… Book Four – Synopsis and some dialogue … Book Five – Synopsis and some dialogue….   and a very big folder of sketches that span all 5 books…. So maybe the large board to pin it all to, isn’t such a bad idea….

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Man of Letters….

  1. try not to lose ur mind coz once u start red stringing with pins, u enter another world.. ur sketches look amazing. thumbs up

Leave a Reply

