Ch….Ch…Ch…Changes….

Still don’t know what I was waitin’  for

And my time was runnin’ wild

A million dead end streets and

Every time I thought I’d got it made

It seemed the taste was not so sweet

So I turned myself to face me

But  I’ve never caught a glimpse of

How  the others must see the faker

I’m  much too fast to take that test

If I am listening to Bowie, then changes are in the wind… Bowie is the music of my youth… Not that I am quite that old, but I grew up in a house that embraced the The Thin White Duke at full volume… So whenever I break out the Bowie, I get a bit nostalgic, sitting around building strange Lego contraptions with my Dad or evenings playing D&D in front of an open fire, with Space Oddity quietly playing in the background…

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Turn and face the strange

Ch-ch-changes

Don’t want to be a richer  man

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Turn  and face the strange

Ch-ch-changes

Just gonna have to be a different man

Time may change me

But  I can’t trace time

So today I am sitting on the floor, Bowie is thumping and I am sorting boxes, boxes of Lego, which feels right… Occasional help from the Kids, until me singing along with Life on Mars drives them to find something else to do… One and half weeks of school holidays to go, and we are all a little bit ready to hide in our rooms… Stir crazy kids (not a Bowie Song)….

I watch the ripples change their  size

But never leave the  stream

TheOf warm impermanence

So the days float through my eyes

But still the days seem the same

And these children that you spit  on

As they try to change their  worlds

Are immune to your  consultations

They’re quite  aware of what they’re goin’ through

The children seem quite keen on the idea of moving back to Blue Mountains, I was surprised how keen… When I mentioned the idea, they gave me a list of all the things they had been missing… Some that I had forgotten, but they obviously have childhood memories of the own, that might even give them that occasional warm nostalgia, when they are moody adults?…

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Turn and face the strange

Ch-ch-changes

Don’t  tell them to grow up and out of it

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Turn and face the strange

Ch-ch-changes

Where’s your shame?

You’ve  left us up to our necks in it

Time  may change me

But you can’t trace  time

The original plan for re-relocating was a 12 month plan… and I still havent ruled that out… but my last correspondence from the ex contained the phrase “I can’t plan more than 6 months in advance”… I guess when I heard that a little part of my brain started thinking 6… Maybe it was some kind of Derren Brown subliminal thing? But the next day I called the realestate agent and changed the new lease from 12 to 6 months…

Strange fascination, fascinatin’

Ah, changes are takin’

The pace I’m goin’ through

I should get back to sorting and drawing up a timeline… Lots to do… Lots of,

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Turn and face the strange

Ch-ch-changes

Don’t  tell them to grow up and out of it

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Turn and face the strange

Ch-ch-changes

Where’s your shame?

You’ve  left us up to our necks in it

Time  may change me

But you can’t trace  time

bowie

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Ch….Ch…Ch…Changes….

  1. Not just a catchy song, but the lyrics keep coming true for all of humanity. Who hasn’t experienced ch-ch-ch-changes?
    –JW

Leave a Reply

