Back to the Drawing Board…

DIY as a metaphor, how clumsy of me…. This started life as a $10 beaten up drafting table… rusty metal legs and that green vinyl covering these all seem to have…. Several hours of sanding painting and waxing and it looks like this…

Photo1-180

The hardest part was sanding back the old frame to get it to a point it would take paint… Several coats of black and a new set of rubber feet later it was look like this…

Photo3-50

and the top was a piece of cedar… in good shape because it had been covered, but a bit to wide…

Photo2-62

I trimmed 10cm of either end, and lots of wax… and then a old skirting rail across the bottom to hold pens and boards…. I think it came up rather well, and at a total investment of $23 with paint it is  not going to send me broke…. I have a old 40s 2 drawer file cabinet that will probably go well next to it, and hold all that arty stuff I need…. Maybe tomorrow if the weather dips below 40 I will start work on it….

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Back to the Drawing Board…

  1. reretro says:

    looks fantastic…worth all that effort. i spent many years drafting on just such a green vinyl clad board – this looks SO much better.

  2. ScrapAndSalvage says:

    looks great! like a nook that ought to inspire you to create.

  3. Believe it or not after seeing this, I just want to sell my kitchen table and buy a drawing board lol Pretty sure my husband would not approve of this.

Leave a Reply

