Almost the Big Score…..

Like any gambler or as I prefer, treasure hunter… I allow myself the indulgence of dreaming of THE BIG SCORE!… The one that settles the debts, and gives you a nice big wedge of cash, to take advantage of the next bargain…. I had that brief heart leap today…. but it was short lived…. I got a call to come have a look at some stuff that might interest me, because it was “weird”… I try to be flattered and not insulted 😉 I arrive to find a large box of leather things (his words not mine)….

This is one of those finds that I should be happy about, but knowing what they are,  makes me sad… These are the packing bits for those old fashioned tripods that surveyors use… The ones that look great as lamp stands…. The ones that cost big $$$ for nice high quality vintage ones… The ones that got stripped for the brass fittings and burned years ago… A moment of silence please….

I know it happens all the time, but the idea that at least 15 of these went to tripod heaven, instead of good homes (with me in the middle, getting myself back in the black) is worth a tear or two…. These were  still a great buy, and I had to have them, even though I had to pay the $20 in small change…

The top protectors could still be used on the ones that are being used as lamps, in-fact they would probably improve them… the base ones will find a use… they are cool little containers and look great just sitting around… Vintage stamped leather always looks cool….

and the harness that would have been used for tramping through the bush with a tripod and map board is kind of cool in a steampunk kind of way….. So I shouldn’t complain…. but……

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

