That son-of-a-bitch Van Owen…..

Still being nice…. to everyone except Van Owen of course…. I am sure I am not the only person who suffers this pre-birthday angst? Recent players on the stage of my life may dismiss it as due to age or mid-life anxiety…. That’s bad science… I have in fact always been a mess (psychologically speaking) in the time leading up to my birthdays and christmas since a very early age…. I even worked out what the cause was a few years ago, it isn’t a very interesting cause… It is mundane and 1st year psych stuff…. I grew up in a divorced home, birthdays and christmas were a time of parental completion over time and gift giving…. I could feel the anxiety like a clamp on my skull…

The main problem with working that out is? That it becomes my problem…. You can’t spend your life blaming your crazy on the way you were raised by wolves…. Same way you can’t blame being a sharp tongued pessimist on your mother, or a shiftless semi-hippy lay about on your father…. (It’s OK they can’t read the interweb)… The problem this week is that my approaching birthday forces the self assessment of progress… And there has been massive progress over the past few years…

Lets call it 2.5% improvment on a monthly basis… There is a maths thing there, about exponential basis of growth, compound interest and variable stuff….  But I won’t confuse matters with science and the like… Lets just say everyday (on average) I get a little less crazy (on average)… Hope I live long enough to be totally boring….

On a side note, and in reference to the title of this blog entry, The birthday also causes some weird regression in musical taste… and that is not an age thing either…. I don’t visit the 80’s…. but I do like to sing loudly about that son-of-a-bitch Van Owen as I drive to pick up the kids from school….

4 thoughts on “That son-of-a-bitch Van Owen…..

  1. ScrapAndSalvage says:

    here’s to the next 2.5% and a happy birthday when it arrives…

  2. poorlocavore says:

    “…blew off Roland’s head.”-Love the Z-man. There could be plenty worse things stuck in your head. And there might be. I’m not judging. Improvement is good, though.

Leave a Reply

